spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Columbia launches on Hubble repair mission
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 8:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
The space shuttle Columbia launched Friday morning on a mission to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Columbia lifted off on mission STS-109...

News briefs: February 28
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Europe's proposed Galileo navigation system moved closer to reality Thursday when the German government gave its stamp of approval to funding plans for the...

Ariane 5 launches Envisat
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 7:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
The Ariane 5 booster returned to flight successfully Thursday night with the launch of ESA's Envisat earth sciences spacecraft. The booster lifted off from...

O'Keefe: key ISS decisions coming this year
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe told members of Congress Wednesday that the agency will be ready this summer to grapple with the costs of the...

NASA to contact Pioneer 10 again
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
NASA will attempt to contact the Pioneer 10 spacecraft this weekend after eight months of silence, the Ames Research Center said Wednesday. On March 2 &#...

News briefs: February 27
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
George Page, the first space shuttle launch director, passed away Tuesday at the age of 77. Page was involved with the US manned space flight...

NASA delays shuttle launch because of cold
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 5:31 PM ET (2231 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday afternoon that it was delaying Thursday's scheduled launch of the shuttle Columbia by a day because of concerns about cold weather...

News briefs: February 26
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
TRW has shipped the Aqua spacecraft to Vandenberg Air Force Base for launch in April, the company announced Monday. Aqua, formerly known as Earth Observing...

Astrium-led group wins Skynet 5 contract
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
A consortium led by Astrium won a contract Tuesday to build the next generation of military communications satellites for the UK. Paradigm, a joint venture...

Shuttle launch faces weather, technical issues
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Thursday's launch of the shuttle Columbia could be threatened by weather and technical problems, shuttle managers said Tuesday. Cold weather is the primary concern:...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list