spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: March 2-3
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 7:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
Russian president Vladimir Putin wants to beef up military space programs to prevent the nation from becoming "blind and deaf" in military intelligence, Aviation Week...

Pioneer 10 phones home
Posted: Sun, Mar 3 1:55 PM ET (1855 GMT)
The NASA spacecraft Pioneer 10 contacted controllers on Earth Saturday, 30 years to the day after it was launched into the outer solar system. Spacecraft...

Shuttle captures Hubble
Posted: Sun, Mar 3 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
The space shuttle Columbia grappled the Hubble Space Telescope early Sunday and locked it in place in the shuttle's cargo bay, setting the stage...

Shuttle cleared to continue mission
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 6:07 PM ET (2307 GMT)
NASA managers decided Saturday to allow the space shuttle Columbia to continue its Hubble repair mission despite a problem with a clogged coolant line. Shuttle...

Mars Odyssey finds water ice
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft has detected strong evidence of what appears to be large deposits of water ice below the surface of Mars, scientists...

News briefs: March 1
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 8:35 AM ET (1335 GMT)
The European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company (EADS) is planning a major reorganization of its space business, AFP reported Friday. EADS chairman Francois Auque said...

Coolant problem could hamper shuttle mission
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 12:01 AM ET (0501 GMT)
A problem with a coolant line on the space shuttle Columbia could pose problems for the mission, but shuttle managers said late Friday it was...

Columbia launches on Hubble repair mission
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 8:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
The space shuttle Columbia launched Friday morning on a mission to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Columbia lifted off on mission STS-109...

News briefs: February 28
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Europe's proposed Galileo navigation system moved closer to reality Thursday when the German government gave its stamp of approval to funding plans for the...

Ariane 5 launches Envisat
Posted: Fri, Mar 1 7:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
The Ariane 5 booster returned to flight successfully Thursday night with the launch of ESA's Envisat earth sciences spacecraft. The booster lifted off from...



news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list