spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


FUSE spacecraft resumes operations
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
NASA's Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft has resumed scientific operations for the first time since it went into safe mode in December, NASA...

Shuttle astronauts complete third critical Hubble EVA
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 2:43 PM ET (1943 GMT)
Shuttle astronauts successfully performed the equivalent of a “heart transplant” on the Hubble Space Telescope Wednesday morning, swapping out a power control unit on the...

First Atlas 5 launch delayed a month
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
The first launch of the Atlas 5 will be delayed at least a month because of payload problems, Space News reported Tuesday. The Atlas 5...

News briefs: March 5
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
The latest NASA communications satellite is ready for launch this Friday, the agency announced. The Tracking and Data Relay Satellite I (TDRS-I) is scheduled...

Solar sail flight delayed until September
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
The Planetary Society recently announced that it will delay the launch of its solar sail mission until September. The flight of Cosmos 1 was scheduled...

Second Hubble EVA a success
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 2:25 PM ET (1925 GMT)
Two astronauts completed the second of five spacewalks early Tuesday to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Astronauts Mike Massimino and Jim Newman spent...

News briefs: March 4
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 8:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
The Indian Space Research Organisation and the Brazilian Space Agency have signed a memorandum of understanding to facilitate cooperation between the two agencies. The MOU,...

Audit criticizes NASA finances
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 7:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
An audit of NASA's budget released last week concluded that the agency's bookkeeping was so poor that independent auditors could not even rule...

Astronauts complete first Hubble EVA
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 1:47 PM ET (1847 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts successfully completed the first of five Hubble Space Telescope repair spacewalks early Monday. Astronauts John Grunsfeld and Rick Linnehan spent seven hours...

Northrop makes hostile bid for TRW
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 1:28 PM ET (1828 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced late Sunday it was making a hostile takeover bid for rival company TRW as TRW announced it was rejecting Northrop's friendly...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list