spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Business briefs: March 8
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
Boeing announced Friday that it will take a one-time charge of $2.1 to $2.6 billion in the first quarter to reflect changes...

Atlas launches TDRS satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 8 9:18 PM ET (0218 GMT)
An Atlas 2A successfully launched a TDRS communications satellite late Friday. The Atlas lifted off from Pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida at 5:59...

Shuttle astronauts wrap up final Hubble spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Mar 8 5:52 PM ET (2252 GMT)
Astronauts successfully completed their work on the Hubble Space Telescope Friday morning with a final spacewalk to install a new cooling unit for an instrument....

News briefs: March 7
Posted: Fri, Mar 8 7:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)
SES Global announced Thursday that it was canceling orders for two more satellites, Space News reported. The two satellites, GE 3i and GE 4i, were...

Panel raises questions about long-term NASA safety
Posted: Fri, Mar 8 7:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
A safety panel warned that, while the safety of NASA programs is good today, reforms are needed to prevent safety from becoming a major problem...

Business briefs: March 7
Posted: Fri, Mar 8 6:43 AM ET (1143 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation posted an operating loss of $53 million in 2001, far better than its $165 million loss in 2000, according to a financial...

Astronauts install new Hubble camera
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 1:52 PM ET (1852 GMT)
Shuttle astronauts performed the fourth Hubble Space Telescope repair spacewalk Thursday morning, replacing the last of the observatory's original instruments with a new camera....

Report: former NASA official latest space tourist candidate
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 8:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
Former NASA associate administrator Lori Garver is the latest name to surface in the race to be the third commercial space tourist, SPACE.com reported...

Third Shenzhou launch expected soon
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
Chinese officials said Wednesday that "final preparations" are underway for the third test flight of the Shenzhou spacecraft, AFP reported. The AFP article cited statements...

News briefs: March 6
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Boeing received $336 million from the US Air Force Wednesday to build two military communications satellites. The Wideband Gapfiller Satellite (WGS) program will use Boeing...



news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 18
Trump's vision for Space Force may get boost
Washington Times — 6:06 am ET (1106 GMT)
Delta IV Heavy rocket approved to launch from Vandenberg on Tuesday
San Luis Obispo (CA) Tribune — 6:03 am ET (1103 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list