spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: April 2
Posted: Wed, Apr 3 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
Chinese officials said Tuesday that a space station would be their next major program after they succeeded in launching humans. The People's Daily newspaper...

Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 2 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
A Russian Molniya-M launch vehicle successfully launched a military spacecraft late Monday. The rocket lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 5:...

News briefs: April 1
Posted: Tue, Apr 2 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio announced Monday that it signed up over 48,000 new subscribers in the first quarter of 2002, exceeding most predictions. The company...

Shenzhou 3 lands
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
China's Shenzhou 3 spacecraft landed successfully early Monday, Chinese officials reported. The spacecraft's descent capsule touched down in Inner Mongolia at 3:51...

News briefs: March 30-31
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)
Heinz Stubblefield, the chief financial officer of XM Satellite Radio, has resigned, the company announced Friday. Company officials said Stubblefield's resignation had nothing to...

MESSENGER spacecraft passes critical design review
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)
NASA's MESSENGER spacecraft, the first Mercury orbiter mission, has passed a critical design review, project officials announced Friday. The successful completion of the four-...

Proton launches Intelsat 903
Updated: Sat, Mar 30 9:39 PM ET (0239 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Mar 30 2:28 PM ET (1928 GMT)
A Russian Proton booster launched an Intelsat communications satellite Saturday afternoon. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur at 12:25 pm EST (1725 GMT)...

Panel to review NASA biology, physics research
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
An independent task force will review NASA's biological and physical research programs, including those projects planned for the International Space Station, the space agency...

News briefs: March 29
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced late Friday that it has extended the deadline for its hostile takeover bid for TRW from March 29 until April 12. TRW...

Ariane 4 launches two satellites
Posted: Fri, Mar 29 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
An Ariane 4 launched two commercial communications satellites Thursday night. The Ariane 44L, the version of the Ariane 4 that uses four strap-on liquid-...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list