spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-110 countdown begins
Posted: Wed, Apr 3 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
The countdown for Thursday's launch of the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-110 began on Monday, still shrouded in secrecy, NASA officials confirmed Tuesday....

News briefs: April 2
Posted: Wed, Apr 3 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
Chinese officials said Tuesday that a space station would be their next major program after they succeeded in launching humans. The People's Daily newspaper...

Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 2 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
A Russian Molniya-M launch vehicle successfully launched a military spacecraft late Monday. The rocket lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 5:...

News briefs: April 1
Posted: Tue, Apr 2 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio announced Monday that it signed up over 48,000 new subscribers in the first quarter of 2002, exceeding most predictions. The company...

Shenzhou 3 lands
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
China's Shenzhou 3 spacecraft landed successfully early Monday, Chinese officials reported. The spacecraft's descent capsule touched down in Inner Mongolia at 3:51...

News briefs: March 30-31
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)
Heinz Stubblefield, the chief financial officer of XM Satellite Radio, has resigned, the company announced Friday. Company officials said Stubblefield's resignation had nothing to...

MESSENGER spacecraft passes critical design review
Posted: Mon, Apr 1 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)
NASA's MESSENGER spacecraft, the first Mercury orbiter mission, has passed a critical design review, project officials announced Friday. The successful completion of the four-...

Proton launches Intelsat 903
Updated: Sat, Mar 30 9:39 PM ET (0239 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Mar 30 2:28 PM ET (1928 GMT)
A Russian Proton booster launched an Intelsat communications satellite Saturday afternoon. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur at 12:25 pm EST (1725 GMT)...

Panel to review NASA biology, physics research
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
An independent task force will review NASA's biological and physical research programs, including those projects planned for the International Space Station, the space agency...

News briefs: March 29
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced late Friday that it has extended the deadline for its hostile takeover bid for TRW from March 29 until April 12. TRW...



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list