spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Controversy over Martian chlorophyll finding
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 11:39 AM ET (1639 GMT)
Scientists have reportedly found traces of chlorophyll on the Martian surface in Mars Pathfinder data, but another report says the findings are "overstated". The BBC...

News briefs: April 5
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
Space tourist Mark Shuttleworth has been approved to be a part of the Soyuz crew that will fly to the International Space Station late this...

Business briefs: April 5
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
Eutelsat announced Friday that it has signed a contract with Alcatel to purchase a refurbished satellite for launch later this year on the inaugural Delta...

Shuttle launch pushed back to Monday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 11:23 PM ET (0423 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that it would delay the launch of the shuttle Atlantis an additional day, to Monday, to allow more time to complete repairs...

NASA spacecraft set to reenter Sunday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
A NASA spacecraft and its upper stage are predicted to reenter the Earth's atmosphere on Sunday morning, the space agency announced Thursday. The High...

News briefs: April 4
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Russia and Italy are set to sign an agreement to cooperate in space ventures, SPACE.com reported Thursday. Citing reports by the Interfax news agency,...

Fuel leak delays Atlantis launch until Sunday
Updated: Thu, Apr 4 7:05 PM ET (0005 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Apr 4 1:30 PM ET (1830 GMT)
A major leak during fueling of the shuttle Atlantis's external tank Thursday forced NASA to delay the launch until at least Sunday. The leak...

STS-110 countdown proceeds, launch time announced
Posted: Thu, Apr 4 10:20 AM ET (1520 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday the official launch time for Thursday's flight of the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-110 as launch preparations continued. NASA said...

News briefs: April 3
Posted: Thu, Apr 4 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
The Federal Aviation Administration announced Wednesday that it had approved launch licenses for the two newest U.S. launch vehicles, the Atlas 5 and the...

STS-110 countdown begins
Posted: Wed, Apr 3 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
The countdown for Thursday's launch of the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-110 began on Monday, still shrouded in secrecy, NASA officials confirmed Tuesday....



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list