spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Spacecraft reenters over Tibet
Posted: Sun, Apr 7 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
A NASA spacecraft reentered late Saturday night over southern Tibet, NASA announced Sunday morning. The High Energy Transient Experiment 1 (HETE-1) spacecraft, along with...

Controversy over Martian chlorophyll finding
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 11:39 AM ET (1639 GMT)
Scientists have reportedly found traces of chlorophyll on the Martian surface in Mars Pathfinder data, but another report says the findings are "overstated". The BBC...

News briefs: April 5
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
Space tourist Mark Shuttleworth has been approved to be a part of the Soyuz crew that will fly to the International Space Station late this...

Business briefs: April 5
Posted: Sat, Apr 6 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
Eutelsat announced Friday that it has signed a contract with Alcatel to purchase a refurbished satellite for launch later this year on the inaugural Delta...

Shuttle launch pushed back to Monday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 11:23 PM ET (0423 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that it would delay the launch of the shuttle Atlantis an additional day, to Monday, to allow more time to complete repairs...

NASA spacecraft set to reenter Sunday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
A NASA spacecraft and its upper stage are predicted to reenter the Earth's atmosphere on Sunday morning, the space agency announced Thursday. The High...

News briefs: April 4
Posted: Fri, Apr 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Russia and Italy are set to sign an agreement to cooperate in space ventures, SPACE.com reported Thursday. Citing reports by the Interfax news agency,...

Fuel leak delays Atlantis launch until Sunday
Updated: Thu, Apr 4 7:05 PM ET (0005 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Apr 4 1:30 PM ET (1830 GMT)
A major leak during fueling of the shuttle Atlantis's external tank Thursday forced NASA to delay the launch until at least Sunday. The leak...

STS-110 countdown proceeds, launch time announced
Posted: Thu, Apr 4 10:20 AM ET (1520 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday the official launch time for Thursday's flight of the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-110 as launch preparations continued. NASA said...

News briefs: April 3
Posted: Thu, Apr 4 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
The Federal Aviation Administration announced Wednesday that it had approved launch licenses for the two newest U.S. launch vehicles, the Atlas 5 and the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list