spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: April 10
Posted: Thu, Apr 11 8:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
Pop star and would-be space tourist Lance Bass said he plans to undergo additional medical tests to gain clearance to take a Soyuz flight,...

Business briefs: April 10
Posted: Thu, Apr 11 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
Lockheed will cut 325 jobs at the New Orleans facility that builds space shuttle external tanks, the AP reported Wednesday. The layoffs at the Michoud...

Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Apr 10 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station on Wednesday. Atlantis docked with ISS on schedule at 12:04 pm EDT (1604 GMT),...

News briefs: April 9
Posted: Wed, Apr 10 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Ice is critical to the formation of stars, according to work by a British astronomer. Martin McCoustra found that icy granules of dust in interstellar...

Business briefs: April 9
Posted: Wed, Apr 10 8:48 AM ET (1248 GMT)
Boeing announced Tuesday that it has won another launch for the heavy version of its Delta 4 launch vehicle. The National Reconnaissance Office will use...

News briefs: April 8
Posted: Tue, Apr 9 11:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
Boeing plans to resume orbit-raising maneuvers for the TDRS-I satellite next week, Aerospace Daily reported Monday. Engineers at Boeing are still studying a...

Business briefs: April 8
Posted: Tue, Apr 9 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
ORBIMAGE announced Monday that it was filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection as part of a prepared restructuring plan. The commercial remote sensing company said...

Atlantis lifts off
Posted: Mon, Apr 8 8:33 PM ET (0033 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis lifted off Monday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis launched at 4:44:19 pm EDT (2044:...

Shuttle cleared for Monday launch attempt
Posted: Mon, Apr 8 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Technicians completed repairs to a hydrogen vent line over the weekend, clearing the way for an attempt to launch the shuttle Atlantis Monday afternoon. Workers...

News briefs: April 6-7
Posted: Mon, Apr 8 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
Steven Tyler, lead singer of the rock group Aerosmith, is the latest person to express an interest in space tourism. The British news service Ananova,...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list