spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA preparing to end X-38 program
Posted: Thu, May 2 2:50 PM ET (1850 GMT)
NASA Headquarters has instructed the Johnson Space Center to stop work on the X-38, a prototype of a proposed International Space Station crew return...

Report: more studies of Martian hazards necessary
Posted: Thu, May 2 1:53 PM ET (1753 GMT)
NASA should conduct more research into potential environmental, chemical, and biological hazards before sending any humans to Mars, a report issued Wednesday concluded. The report,...

News briefs: May 1
Posted: Thu, May 2 7:56 AM ET (1156 GMT)
US Senator Barbara Mikulski said at a hearing Wednesday that she plans to work to restore funding for a Pluto mission into NASA's 2003...

SLI reaches first milestone review
Posted: Wed, May 1 7:28 PM ET (2328 GMT)
NASA officials reported Tuesday on the results of the first milestone review of the agency's Space Launch Initiative (SLI) program, an effort to develop...

Astronomers show off new Hubble camera images
Posted: Wed, May 1 7:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)
The Hubble Space Telescope's newest camera is providing astronomers with some of the best images ever, NASA announced Tuesday. Astronomers released the first images...

News briefs: April 30
Posted: Wed, May 1 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that former astronaut Bryan O'Connor will be the agency's new associate adminisitrator for the Office of Safety and Mission Assurance,...

Endeavour rolled out for May 30 launch
Posted: Wed, May 1 7:35 AM ET (1135 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour was rolled out to the launch pad Monday as preparations for its launch in late May continue. Endeavour is scheduled to...

News briefs: April 29
Posted: Tue, Apr 30 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
Lockheed Martin announced Monday that it will eliminate 400 jobs at its Missiles and Space Operations unit as part of a cost-cutting effort. The...

News briefs: April 27-28
Posted: Mon, Apr 29 9:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
A long term master plan for the Cape Canaveral spaceport should be ready by July, Florida Today reported this weekend. The report will plan the...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, docked with the International Space Station early Saturday. The Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft docked...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list