spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: May 6
Posted: Tue, May 7 11:42 AM ET (1542 GMT)
SPACEHAB announced a net profit of $66,000, or $0.01 per basic share, for its fiscal third quarter on Monday. The commercial space company...

Northrop, TRW reach deal on confidentiality agreement
Posted: Tue, May 7 9:10 AM ET (1310 GMT)
Northrop Grumman and TRW announced Monday that the two companies had reached a deal on a confidentiality agreement that will allow Northrop to view TRW...

Proton launch delayed until Tuesday
Posted: Tue, May 7 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
A launch of a Proton booster carrying an American direct broadcasting satellite was scrubbed on Monday because of technical problems. The launch of the DIRECTV-...

News briefs: May 4-5
Posted: Mon, May 6 2:15 PM ET (1815 GMT)
PanAmSat will likely remain an autonomous entity even after EchoStar acquires the communications satellite operator, Space News reported Friday. PanAmSat is currently 81 percent owned...

Soyuz, Shuttleworth return to Earth
Posted: Sun, May 5 9:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, landed safely in Kazakhstan late Saturday night, ending their 10-day trip in space....

Delta 2 launches NASA Aqua satellite
Posted: Sat, May 4 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched NASA's Aqua Earth-observing satellite early Saturday morning. The Delta 2 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base,...

News briefs: May 3
Posted: Sat, May 4 10:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
NASA awarded Boeing's Rocketdyne division a five-year, $1.14 billion contract on Friday to continue maintenance of the space shuttle main engines. The...

Ariane launches SPOT 5 satellite
Posted: Sat, May 4 1:41 AM ET (0541 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched the French SPOT 5 remote sensing satellite Friday night. The Ariane 42P, the version of the Ariane 4 that...

TRW shareholders reject Northrop offer
Posted: Sat, May 4 1:10 AM ET (0510 GMT)
TRW announced Friday that its shareholders have rejected a hostile offer from rival Northrop Grumman. TRW said that shareholders, voting in a special meeting, turned...

News briefs: May 1
Posted: Fri, May 3 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
The Defense Department on Thursday cleared the way to continue work on a space-based missile warning system despite the program's cost overruns. Pete...



news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list