spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: May 11-12
Posted: Mon, May 13 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
NASA has turned to online auction site eBay to look for vintage hardware no longer available from other sources, the New York Times reported Sunday....

US loans Japan weather satellite
Posted: Mon, May 13 9:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
The United States is loaning a backup weather satellite to Japan to replace an existing satellite on the verge of failure, the AP reported Saturday....

Roof collapses at Baikonur hangar
Posted: Sun, May 12 3:45 PM ET (1945 GMT)
As many as eight people are feared dead after a roof of a hangar at the Baikonur Cosmodrome collapsed early Sunday. Eight people were working...

News briefs: May 10
Posted: Sat, May 11 12:09 PM ET (1609 GMT)
The Jet Propulsion Laboratory announced Friday that it has selected two concepts of a future planet-hunting spacecraft for future study. The two concepts for...

News briefs: May 9
Posted: Fri, May 10 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe told members of a Senate subcommittee Wednesday that the purposes of all of NASA's 11 facilities are under review,...

Atmosphere acts as heat shield for solar storms
Posted: Fri, May 10 8:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
New data from a NASA spacecraft confirm that a region of the Earth's upper atmosphere acts as a heat shield, absorbing energy from solar...

News briefs: May 8
Posted: Thu, May 9 11:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)
The German space agency DLR has asked NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe to clarify his position regarding the fate of the X-38, a prototype...

Gregory nominated to be NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Thu, May 9 9:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
The White House and NASA announced Wednesday that President Bush has nominated Frederick D. Gregory to become deputy administrator, the number two job at NASA....

News briefs: May 7
Posted: Wed, May 8 10:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
Mark Shuttleworth will not be able to buy the Soyuz spacecraft he returned to Earth in, Russian officials said Tuesday. Shuttleworth had expressed an interest...

Proton launches DIRECTV satellite
Posted: Wed, May 8 12:17 AM ET (0417 GMT)
A Russian Proton rocket successfully launched an American direct broadcasting satellite Tuesday afternoon after a one-day delay. The Proton-K lifted off from Baikonur,...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list