spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: May 15
Posted: Thu, May 16 8:07 AM ET (1207 GMT)
Congressman Nick Lampson (D-TX) introduced legislation in the House of Representatives Wednesday designed to focus the nation's space exploration efforts. The Space Exploration...

Business briefs: May 15
Posted: Thu, May 16 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
Lockheed Martin may sell its commercial satellite unit, the company's chairman said Wednesday. Vance Coffman said that a "strategic action of one sort or...

ISS oxygen generator undergoing repairs
Posted: Wed, May 15 8:28 PM ET (0028 GMT)
An oxygen generator on the International Space Station has malfunctioned and is undergoing repairs, forcing the crew to use a backup oxygen system. Elektron, a...

DIRECTV satellite suffers glitch
Posted: Wed, May 15 8:12 PM ET (0012 GMT)
A direct broadcasting television satellite owned by DIRECTV has been relegated to a backup role after the failure of one of its main computers. DIRECTV...

News briefs: May 14
Posted: Wed, May 15 2:31 PM ET (1831 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe named two people to key positions within the agency Tuesday, the latest in a string of appointments. Langley Research Center...

China launches two satellites
Posted: Wed, May 15 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
A Chinese Long March booster launched a weather satellite and marine surveying spacecraft Wednesday. The Long March 4B booster lifted off from the Taiyuan launch...

Report: Arianespace may need government support to survive
Posted: Wed, May 15 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
European launch services provider Arianespace may need government support to ride out a downturn in the commercial launch market and avoid bankruptcy, Space News reported...

China planning launch of weather satellite
Posted: Tue, May 14 10:11 PM ET (0211 GMT)
China is planning to launch as early as Wednesday a new weather satellite, according to Chinese media reports. An article published by the English-language...

Seven confirmed dead in Baikonur roof collapse
Posted: Tue, May 14 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
Seven bodies have been recovered from the debris of a hangar that partially collapsed Sunday at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. The search continues for...

News briefs: May 13
Posted: Tue, May 14 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
Arianespace has won two new launch contracts, SPACEandTECH announced late Monday. Those contracts are for the launches of Agrani 2 and DIRECTV 7S in 2003...



news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list