spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle lands at Edwards
Updated: Tue, Feb 20 10:34 PM ET (0334 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Feb 20 4:43 PM ET (2143 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis successfully landed Tuesday afternoon at Edwards Air Force Base in California after two extra days in orbit caused by poor weather....

NASA opts for Edwards shuttle landing
Updated: Tue, Feb 20 1:48 PM ET (1848 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Feb 20 11:40 AM ET (1640 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers decided Tuesday to land the shuttle Atlantis at Edwards Air Force Base in California after poor weather conditions persisted at the Kennedy...

Start-1 launches Swedish Odin spacecraft
Posted: Tue, Feb 20 11:27 AM ET (1627 GMT)
A former Russian ICBM successfully launched a Swedish scientific satellite early Tuesday. The Start-1 booster lifted off at 3:48 am EST (0848 GMT)...

Shuttle landing postponed until Tuesday
Updated: Mon, Feb 19 2:21 PM ET (1921 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Feb 19 1:19 PM ET (1819 GMT)
For the second day in a row NASA has postponed the landing of the shuttle Atlantis because of poor weather conditions at the Kennedy Space...

Minor thruster problem on Stardust
Posted: Mon, Feb 19 12:58 PM ET (1758 GMT)
Engineers are looking into a problem with multiple attitude-control thruster firings on NASA's Stardust spacecraft. The problem, reported in a weekly status report...

High winds delay shuttle landing until Monday
Updated: Sun, Feb 18 1:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Feb 18 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
NASA has postponed the landing of the shuttle Atlantis until Monday because of high crosswinds at the Kennedy Space Center. The shuttle was set to...

ISS cost overruns may halt station assembly
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
Cost overruns approaching $4 billion on the American component of the International Space Station could force NASA to end assembly of the orbiting facility far...

Atlantis undocks from ISS
Posted: Fri, Feb 16 2:38 PM ET (1938 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station Friday morning, wrapping up a week's stay at the orbiting facility that featured the...

Mir's deorbit date delayed
Posted: Thu, Feb 15 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
The Russian space station Mir will likely remain in orbit until mid-March, about a week later than previously planned, the Itar-Tass news agency...

Astronauts complete third and final spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Feb 15 12:40 AM ET (0540 GMT)
Two astronauts completed the third and final EVA of shuttle mission STS-98 outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Astronauts Bob Curbeam and Tom Jones...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list