spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: June 11
Posted: Wed, Jun 12 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
Lockheed Martin officials are keeping a close watch on a Colorado forest fire near its rocket and spacecraft facilities in Denver. By Tuesday the Hayman...

Atlas 3 wins two launch contracts
Posted: Wed, Jun 12 9:00 AM ET (1300 GMT)
Lockheed Martin's Atlas 3 booster won two contracts Tuesday to launch a commercial communications satellite and a NASA Mars mission. International Launch Services announced...

Second STS-111 spacewalk swiftly completed
Posted: Wed, Jun 12 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
Two astronauts made the second spacewalk of the STS-111 mission on Tuesday, successfully completing their tasks faster than expected. Franklin Chang-Diaz and Philippe...

News briefs: June 10
Posted: Tue, Jun 11 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)
Space station program manager Tommy Holloway will retire from NASA next month, the space agency announced Monday. Holloway had been at NASA since 1963 and...

Mobile base station attached to ISS
Posted: Tue, Jun 11 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
Astronauts successfully attached a new mobile base station to the International Space Station on Monday. The unit is designed to allow the station's Canadarm2...

News briefs: June 8-9
Posted: Mon, Jun 10 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
The North American division of British defense contractor BAE Systems is reportedly interested in acquiring TRW. The Washington Post reported Saturday that officials with BAE...

Proton launches Russian satellite
Posted: Mon, Jun 10 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
A Proton booster launched a Russian communications satellite late Sunday. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur at 9:14 pm EDT Sunday (0114 GMT Monday)...

Astronauts complete first STS-111 spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Jun 10 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts successfully conducted a spacewalk Sunday, the first of three scheduled for the STS-111 mission. Franklin Chang-Diaz and Philippe Perrin spent...

Station gyro fails
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 11:55 AM ET (1555 GMT)
A gyroscope on the International Space Station failed Saturday, shortly after a cargo module was attached to the orbiting outpost. One of four control moment...

Report: Shuttle a terrorist target
Posted: Sat, Jun 8 12:41 PM ET (1641 GMT)
Terrorists have considered an attack against the space shuttle, according to a report published by AviationNow. NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe said after the successful...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list