spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 25, 2002, 4:11 PM ET (2011 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton booster successfully launched a Russian military reconnaissance satellite on Thursday. The Proton-K booster lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome at 11:13 am EDT (1513 GMT), with separation of the spacecraft from the Proton's upper stage taking place two hours later. The spacecraft, known as Kosmos 2392, is believed to be an Arkon-class military reconnaissance satellite; the only other Arkon satellite, Kosmos 2344, was placed in an elliptical 63.4-degree orbit at an altitude of 1500 to 2740 km. Yuri Koptev, head of Rosaviakosmos, told the news agency RIA Novosti that the spacecraft would also be used for ecological studies of land and oceans.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list