spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds delay Proton launch again
Posted: Wed, Aug 21, 2002, 8:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
EchoStar 8 launch poster (ILS) High winds delayed the launch of a Proton booster carrying an American television broadcasting satellite early Wednesday for the second straight day. The Proton-K was scheduled to lift off from Baikonur at 1:15 am EDT (0515 GMT) Wednesday, but high winds aloft forced launch controllers to delay the launch. Similar high winds led to the postponement of Tuesday morning's launch attempt. The launch is now scheduled for the same time Thursday. The vehicle is carrying EchoStar 8, the latest direct television broadcasting satellite for EchoStar Communications Corporation. The launch was originally scheduled for late June but was delayed by a problem with the spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list