spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch, Ariane flights delayed
Posted: Mon, Jan 8, 2001, 10:49 PM ET (0349 GMT)
Two launches scheduled for within an hour of one another were both scrubbed late Monday. An Ariane 4 launch scheduled for between 5:08 and 6:51 pm EST (2208 and 2351 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana was postponed for one day because of poor weather conditions aloft. A Zenit 3SL was scheduled to lift off at 5:35 pm EST (2235 GMT) from the Sea Launch floating launch platform in the Pacific, but that mission was aborted just 11 seconds before liftoff because of an unspecified technical problem. The Zenit launch will likely be delayed at least four to five days to resolve the problem and prepare for another launch attempt. The Ariane 4 will carry the Eurasiasat 1 communications satellite while the Zenit will launch the XM-1 "Roll" radio broadcasting satellite for XM Satellite Radio. The two launches are competing to be the first of the new year (and arguably of the new millennium.)
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list