spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sun, Oct 27, 2002, 11:53 AM ET (1653 GMT)
ZY-2 satellite (Encyclopedia Astronautica) China announced early Sunday that it launched an imaging satellite designed for remote sensing or military reconnaissance work. A Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan launch center at 11:17 pm EDT Saturday night (0317 GMT, 11:17 am local time Sunday) and placed the satellite into a 500-kilometer Sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft was identified by Chinese officials as Zi Yuan 2 (ZY-2), a remote sensing satellite similar to another ZY satellite (also known by some sources as ZY-2) launched in September 2000. While Chinese officials called this a remote sensing satellite, the spacecraft is likely also used to provide high-resolution military reconnaissance images, according to Western sources. The launch is the third successful one of the year for China, after the March launch of Shenzhou 3 and the May launch of two earth science satellites on another Long March 4B. In addition, the September launch of an unidentified payload on a new Kaituozhe 1 small launch vehicle apparently failed, but was not reported by the Chinese media.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list