spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China Launches Shenzhou-2
Posted: Tue, Jan 9, 2001, 5:17 PM ET (2217 GMT)
Shenzhou illustration by Simon Zajc A Chinese rocket has launched Shenzhou-2, the second test flight of the prototype a piloted spacecraft. The Long March 2F spacecraft launched the spacecraft Wednesday at approximately 1 am Beijing time (12:00 pm EST, 1700 GMT Tuesday) from the Jiuquan launch site in northwestern China, according to reports from Xinhua and AFP. The spacecraft is said by Xinhua to be an improved version of the first Shenzhou spacecraft launched in November 1999 and is "basically identical" to a manned spacecraft, although on this flight it is only carrying a number of unspecified animals and microbial cells. The spacecraft is expected to stay in orbit for several days before landing in China. At least one more test flight is expected after this one before China attempts sending humans in space.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list