spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery undocks from ISS
Posted: Mon, Mar 19, 2001, 1:32 AM ET (0632 GMT)
ISS after STS-102 undocking The space shuttle Discovery undocked from the International Space Station Sunday night, hours after the Expedition One crew turned over the station to the new Expedition Two crew. Discovery undocked on schedule at 11:32 pm EST (0432 GMT), nearly nine days after arriving at the orbiting facility. The undocking took place exactly two hours after the Expedition One crew — Bill Shepherd, Yuri Gidzenko, and Sergei Krikalev — officially turned over the station to the Expedition Two crew of Yuri Usachev, James Voss, and Susan Helms. Earlier in the evening a formal change-of-command ceremony was held on ISS, where Expedition One commander Shepherd turned over the station log to Expedition Two commander Usachev. The shuttle, carrying the Expedition One crew, is scheduled to land back at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 12:55 am EST (0555 GMT) Wednesday, although current forecasts call for clouds and showers that could prevent the landing. The Expedition Two crew aboard ISS will take a couple days off before officially starting work in the station on Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list