spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Florida weather could force another California shuttle landing
Posted: Tue, Mar 20, 2001, 11:15 AM ET (1615 GMT)
STS-102 logo Inclement weather forecast for Florida tonight could require NASA to divert the shuttle to a California landing for the second straight mission. The shuttle Discovery is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center, Florida, at 12:56 am EST (0556 GMT), with a second landing opportunity at 2:31 am EST (0731 GMT). However, the current forecast calls for clouds, rain, and winds that would prohibit a landing. There are also two landing opportunities Thursday at Edwards Air Force Base, California: 4:02 am and 5:38 am EST (0902 and 1038 GMT). While NASA shuttle managers would normally have the crew spend an extra day in orbit to allow for a second try at Florida, worsening weather forecast later in the week in California, with only a modest improvement in Florida, could prompt them to bring the shuttle down at Edwards tonight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list