spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kosmos launches two military satellites
Posted: Tue, Aug 19, 2003, 2:28 PM ET (1828 GMT)
Kosmos-3M file photo (SSC) A Kosmos rocket successfully launched two Russian military satellites on Tuesday, according to Russian media reports. The Kosmos-3M booster lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 6:50 am EDT (1050 GMT). Russian reports offered no other details other than to say that the spacecraft, designed Kosmos 2400 and 2401, successfully reached orbit. Western analysts have suggested that these spacecraft may be low data rate store-and-forward military communications satellites of the Strela-3 class. The launch was reportedly moved up on relatively short notice, forcing the commercial launch of three remote sensing satellites of the Disaster Monitoring Constellation to be delayed from late July until September.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list