spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tito, Soyuz leave ISS
Posted: Sun, May 6, 2001, 12:22 AM ET (0422 GMT)
Soyuz TM-31 docked at ISS California businessman Dennis Tito ended his controversial visit to the International Space Station late Saturday when he and two Russian cosmonauts departed the station in a Soyuz spacecraft. The Soyuz TM-31 spacecraft undocked from ISS at 10:21 pm EDT (0221 GMT) and began an automated series of deorbit maneuvers that will conclude with a landing in Kazakhstan at 1:41 am EDT (0541 GMT) Sunday. Tito and cosmonauts Talgat Musabayev and Yuri Baturin left in the same spacecraft that was used to ferry the Expedition One crew to the station six months ago; the new Soyuz they used to travel to the station was left behind to serve as a lifeboat the station's crew. Despite the controversy that Tito's $20 million trip to the station generated, his stay on the station was relatively uneventful, as he spent him time looking out the station's windows and listening to opera, and occasionally assisted the crew in "menial" tasks, such as setting out food for his crewmates. Tito told reports he enjoyed his stay on the station and plans to spend his time once he returns to Earth convincing government officials and the public that space flight should be opened up to nonprofessionals like himself.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list