spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Express lowers orbit
Posted: Sun, Jan 4, 2004, 2:15 PM ET (1915 GMT)
Mars Express illustration (ESA) ESA's Mars Express spacecraft fired its engine Sunday to bring its orbit closer to Mars, enabling it to soon begin a search for the missing Beagle 2 lander. Mars Express fired its main engine for five minutes at 8:13 am EST (1313 GMT), lowering the apoapsis, or farthest point in its orbit from the planet, from 190,000 to 40,000 km; its periapsis is at 250 km. Two more maneuvers scheduled for the next week will further lower its apoapsis to 11,000 km. The maneuvers, when completed, will permit the spacecraft to begin scientific observations of the planet in mid-January. In addition, the spacecraft is now in position to begin searches for the Beagle 2 lander, which has not been heard from since its December 25th landing on the planet. Mars Express will pass just 315 km from the expected Beagle 2 landings site on January 7. Beagle 2 project officials hope that pass, as well as similar ones on following days, will enable Mars Express to detect signals from the lander that have to date eluded searches from NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft and Earth-based radio telescopes.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list