spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour returns to Florida atop 747
Posted: Thu, May 10, 2001, 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
Endeavour and 747 land at KSC The space shuttle Endeavour returned to the Kennedy Space Center in Florida Wednesday atop a 747, a little over a week after landing in California. The 747 aircraft, with Endeavour attached, landed at KSC just after 2 pm EDT (1800 GMT), completing a two-day transcontinental ferry flight. The 747 and shuttle left Edwards Air Force Base Tuesday and, after a refueling stop at an Air Force base in Oklahoma, spent the night at Little Rock Air Force Base in Arkansas before completing the return flight to KSC on Wednesday. The shuttle landed at Edwards on May 1 after poor weather prevented the orbiter from landing at KSC as preferred. Ferrying the shuttle from California to Florida costs about $1 million and adds about a week to the processing time between flights, although the added time should not be a major issue as Endeavour's next flight, STS-108, is not slated for launch until late November.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list