spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches communications satellite
Posted: Thu, May 20, 2004, 7:33 AM ET (1133 GMT)
Atlas 2AS launch of Hispasat 1D An Atlas 2AS launched a communications satellite Wednesday night on the penultimate launch of the venerable launch vehicle. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36B at Cape Canaveral at 6:22 pm EDT (2222 GMT), 30 minutes later than planned to allow engineers time to review data from a guidance computer on the booster. The rocket's payload, the AMC-11 satellite, separated from the vehicle's upper stage 28 minutes after liftoff, after entering a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite, a Lockheed Martin A2100-series spacecraft, will be eventually stationed at 131 degrees west. The spacecraft will be used by SES Americom to relay television programming for a variety of cable networks. The launch is the next to last for the Atlas 2 family, with the final launch of the booster, carrying a military payload, planned for early July.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list