spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 29, 2004, 8:51 AM ET (1251 GMT)
Dnepr launch (Kosmotras) A Russian Dnepr booster successfully launched a cluster of small satellites for several countries early Tuesday. The Dnepr, a converted SS-18 ICBM, lifted off from a silo at Baikonur at 2:30 am EDT (0630 GMT) Tuesday, placing its payload into a Sun-synchronous orbit approximately 700 km high. The largest of the eight satellites on the mission was Demeter, a 125-kg satellite by the French space agency CNES that is designed to detect electromagnetic signals that may be associated with earthquakes. The spacecraft also carries three small Saudi communications satellites, two LatinSat communications satellites, the amateur radio satellite Amsat-Echo, and an Italian research satellite. Other than Demeter, the satellites all weighed less than 50 kg each. The launch is the first for the Dnepr since December 2002. Another Dnepr launch is tentatively slated for later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list