spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kosmos rocket launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10, 2001, 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
Kosmos-3M file photo (SSC) A Russian Kosmos-3M rocket successfully launched a military navigation satellite Friday, sources reported this weekend. The Kosmos-3M rocket lifted off from Plesetsk, Russia at 12:12 pm EDT (1612 GMT) June 8. It placed into an inclined low Earth orbit a spacecraft identified only as Kosmos-2378. The online publications SPACEandTECH and Russian Space Web both noted that the orbit is consistent with the spacecraft being a Parus navigation and communications satellite for the Russian Navy. The launch was the first for the Kosmos-3M since the failed launch last November of the QuickBird-1 commercial remote sensing satellite for the American company EarthWatch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list