spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches communication satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 16, 2001, 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Russian Proton booster successfully launched a European communications satellite late Friday night. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 9:49 pm EDT Friday (0149 GMT Saturday) and placed into orbit the Astra 2C spacecraft. Astra 2C, a Boeing 601 spacecraft, will be used by Luxembourg-based Societe Europeenne des Satellites (SES) to provide a variety of communications services from either 19.2 or 282. degrees East longitude. The launch was the second commercial Proton launch of the year, after the May launch of PAS-10, and the third Proton launch overall of 2001.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list