spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Mar 30, 2005, 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
Proton K launch of Express-AM2 (RSCC) A Proton rocket successfully launched a domestic Russian communications satellite early Wednesday. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome at 5:31 pm EST Tuesday (2231 GMT Tuesday, 1:31 am Moscow time Wednesday) and placed its payload, Express-AM2, into its designated orbit six and a half hours later. The satellite, built by Russian manufacturer NPO PM with a communications payload provided by Alcatel, will be located in geostationary orbit at 80 degrees east, providing a variety of communications services for Russia and portions of southern and eastern Asia. The satellite carries 16 C-band, 12 Ku-band, and one L-band transponders. The satellite is the fourth of a series of five next-generation spacecraft operated by the Russian Satellite Communications Company (RSCC); the fifth, Express-AM3, is scheduled for launch in June.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list