spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches Air Force satellite
Posted: Mon, Apr 11, 2005, 9:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
Minotaur launch (OSC) A Minotaur launch vehicle, in its first flight in nearly five years, placed an experimental Air Force satellite into orbit Monday morning. The Minotaur lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 9:35 am EDT (1335 GMT), carrying the XSS-11 experimental satellite. Air Force officials reported that the satellite had been successfully placed into the desired orbit. The satellite will be used by the Air Force Research Lab to test autonomous navigation and rendezvous technologies. During the spacecraft's mission, slated to last 12 to 18 months, XSS-11 will rendezvous with up to seven spent rocket stages or dead spacecraft. The launch is the first for the Minotaur, a vehicle comprised of former Minuteman ICBM and Pegasus stages, since the vehicle's first two flights in early and mid 2000. Two more Minotaur launches are scheduled for later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list