spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Apr 17, 2005, 1:04 PM ET (1704 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-6 docks with ISS (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft docked with the International Space Station Saturday night, bringing a new crew and a visiting astronaut to the orbiting outpost. The Soyuz TMA-6 spacecraft docked with the Pirs airlock module of the station at 10:20 pm EDT Saturday (0220 GMT Sunday), two days after launch from Baikonur. The automated docking was a success, although observers noted an unexpected roll of 10 to 15 degrees by the Soyuz after making contact with the station. On board the Soyuz is the Expedition 11 crew of Sergei Krikalev and John Phillips, as well as visiting ESA astronaut Roberto Vittori. Krikalev and Phillips will relieve the existing station crew of Leroy Chiao and Salizhan Sharipov, who will return to Earth with Vittori in a week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list