spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch of commercial satellite delayed
Posted: Sun, May 22, 2005, 7:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
Proton carrying DirecTV 8 erected on launch pad (ILS) The launch of a commercial satellite on a Proton rocket was postponed one day Saturday because of a technical problem. The Proton M was scheduled to lift off Saturday afternoon from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, carrying the DirecTV 8 satellite into orbit. However, the launch was scrubbed earlier in the day because of an unspecified "technical problem" about which no further details were provided; International Launch Services later said the problem was with the launch vehicle. The problem has been resolved and the launch is now scheduled for Sunday at 1:59 pm EDT (1759 GMT). The 3711-kilogram DirecTV 8 satellite, built by Space Systems/Loral, will be placed at 101 degrees west longitude to provide direct-to-home satellite TV services.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list