spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches DirecTV satellite
Posted: Mon, May 23, 2005, 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
Proton launch of DirecTV 8 (ILS) A Russian Proton booster successfully launched a new broadcasting satellite for DirecTV late Sunday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 1:59 pm EDT (1759 GMT, 11:59 pm local time) Sunday. The rocket's payload, the DirecTV 8 satellite, separated from the Briz M upper stage nine hours and 15 minutes later, after entering a geosynchronous transfer orbit. DurecTV 8 will be used by satellite TV broadcaster DirecTV to augment its existing system of direct-to-home broadcasting satellites from a location at 101 degrees west longitude. The launch was delayed 24 hours because of an unspecified technical issue with the Proton.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, July 19
Falcon 9 rocket test-fired for weekend launch
Spaceflight Now — 12:55 am ET (0455 GMT)
British government to promote space industry exports
Space News — 12:53 am ET (0453 GMT)
Printing the next generation of rocket engines
Space News — 12:53 am ET (0453 GMT)
Ex-Im Bank nominee fairs well in Senate hearing
Space News — 12:52 am ET (0452 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list