spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for Thursday shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Jul 9, 2001, 6:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)
STS-104 patch The countdown for the launch this Thursday of the space shuttle Atlantis began Monday morning with weather the only major concern. Countdown clocks started at 8 am EDT (1200 GMT) at the T-43 hour point towards the launch of Atlantis on mission STS-104. Liftoff is scheduled for 5:04 am EDT (0904 GMT) Thursday, July 12. Shuttle managers said Monday morning they are working on no technical issues that could delay the launch, although they are keeping an eye on the weather. Current forecasts call for a 40 percent chance of unacceptable launch weather Thursday morning, as well as a 30 percent chance of weather that would prohibit the transfer of propellants into the shuttle's external tank Wednesday evening. NASA has until July 17 to launch Atlantis on its mission to install an airlock on the International Space Station: after that date a variety of circumstances, including another shuttle flight and a planned range shutdown at Cape Canaveral, could delay the mission until September.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list