spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GOES launch delayed
Posted: Tue, Aug 16, 2005, 8:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
GOES-N illustration (Boeing) A weather satellite scheduled for launch Monday was delayed 24 hours because of a faulty pressure reading on its Delta 4 booster. The Delta 4 was scheduled to lift off at 6:32 pm EDT (2232 GMT) Monday evening to place the GOES-N satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. However, controllers scrubbed the launch after sensors indicated low pressure levels in helium bottles that pressurize the propulsion system on the rocket's second stage. Engineers later concluded that the pressurization system is fine, and reset the launch for the same time Tuesday. If the launch does not take place Tuesday NASA may elect to delay the launch until early October to avoid having the satellite undergo the "eclipse period" encountered by GEO satellites during the autumnal equinox while the spacecraft is in its critical on-orbit checkout phase.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 27
Guess who’s unhappy about Elon Musk’s SpaceX
The Hill — 9:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Jeff Bezos: ‘We Must Go Back to the Moon, and This Time to Stay’
Wall Street Journal — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
NASA is basically trying to get hacked
The Outline — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list