spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather becoming less of an issue for shuttle landing
Posted: Mon, Jul 23, 2001, 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
STS-104 patch Poor weather is increasingly unlikely to delay the landing of the space shuttle Atlantis late Monday night, officials said early Monday. Atlantis is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center at 12:37 am EDT (0437 GMT) Tuesday to complete the STS-104 mission. Earlier forecasts had called for a considerable chance of clouds and rain that would prohibit a landing, but as of early Monday shuttle managers said the forecast was now looking "pretty good" for the landing. A second landing attempt at KSC is available at 2:10 am EDT (0610 GMT) if needed, and two opportunities are available late Tuesday night as well. There are also landing opportunities at Edwards Air Force Base in California, but NASA hopes to land Atlantis in Florida to avoid the expense and delays involved with transporting the shuttle from California.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 3:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)
UK's first spaceport will be built at Sutherland in the Highlands
Glasgow Daily Record — 3:29 pm ET (1929 GMT)
The Grimsby man who invented the space shuttle
Grimsby (UK) Telegraph — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Good Brexit deal needed to ensure space investment, expert says
Press Association — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Countdown begins for UK’s race into space
Sunday Times of London — 3:25 pm ET (1925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list