spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather postpones shuttle landing
Posted: Tue, Jul 24, 2001, 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
STS-104 patch Poor weather at the Kennedy Space Center Monday night forced NASA to wave off two shuttle landing attempts, keeping Atlantis in orbit an extra day. Atlantis was scheduled to land at KSC at 12:37 am EDT (0437 GMT) Tuesday, but marginal weather conditions, including showers near the landing strip, led shuttle managers to wave off both that attempt and a second attempt at 2:14 am EDT (0614 GMT). NASA will try again Tuesday night, with two landing attempts scheduled for 11:39 pm EDT Tuesday (0339 GMT Wednesday) and 1:15 am EDT (0515 GMT) Wednesday. While the backup landing site at Edwards Air Force Base in California is available, NASA has elected not to activate it yet, since Atlantis can stay in orbit until Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list