spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan launch on indefinite hold
Updated: Fri, Jul 27, 2001, 6:45 PM ET (2245 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Jul 27, 2001, 11:52 AM ET (1552 GMT)
DSP satellite illustration (USAF) Friday's scheduled launch of a Titan 4 carrying a military early-warning satellite has been delayed indefinitely after problems were found with the booster. The Titan 4B was scheduled to launch Friday at 4:08 am EDT (0808 GMT) and place into geosynchronous orbit the Defense Support Program DSP-21 satellite. However, launch officials decided late Thursday to delay the launch at least a day after problems were reported with the guidance system on the Titan 4B's second stage. The Air Force had tentatively rescheduled the launch for Saturday morning, but decided to push the launch back indefinitely while it removes the guidance unit and determines the nature of the problem. No new launch date will be announced until the problem with the guidance unit is resolved. DSP-21 is the latest in a series of military satellites designed to provide the military with early warning of missile launches and nuclear explosions worldwide.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list