spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launch postponed again
Posted: Thu, Mar 9, 2006, 9:55 PM ET (0255 GMT)
Ariane 5 prior to flight 160 launch (Arianespace) Thursday night's scheduled launch of an Ariane 5 was scrubbed several minutes before liftoff because of a technical glitch with the launch vehicle. The rocket, carrying two communications satellites, was scheduled to lift off at 5:06 pm EDT (2206 GMT) Thursday from Kourou, French Guiana. However, the countdown was halted less than five minutes because of a low pressure reading in the rocket's cryogenic upper stage. Technicians tried to bring the pressure levels back to acceptable levels, but gave up near the end of 67-minute launch window. The launch of the Hot Bird 7A and SpainSat satellites has been tentatively rescheduled for the same time Friday, although Arianespace will wait until Friday morning before making a formal launch announcement.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list