spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan 4 launches military satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 6, 2001, 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
DSP satellite illustration (USAF) A Titan 4 booster successfully launched a military early-warning satellite early Monday from Cape Canaveral. The Titan 4B lifted off at 3:28 am EDT (0728 GMT) from Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. The booster placed into a transfer orbit the Defense Support Program DSP-21 spacecraft and its IUS upper stage. The IUS will be used to send the satellite into geosynchronous orbit later Monday. The launch was scheduled for late July but delayed after a potential problem with the booster's guidance system was discovered hours before launch. DSP-21 is the latest in a series of military satellites designed to provide the military with early warning of missile launches and nuclear explosions worldwide. The launch is the second of the year for the Titan 4, after the late February launch of a Milstar communications satellite. Up to two more Titan 4 launches are scheduled to take place this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list