spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-105 countdown begins
Posted: Mon, Aug 6, 2001, 11:01 PM ET (0301 GMT)
STS-105 patch The countdown for Thursday's launch of the shuttle Discovery began late Monday after shuttle managers determined there were no problems with the shuttle's boosters. The countdown for the launch of STS-105 began at 5 pm EDT (2100 GMT) Monday at the T-43 hour mark for a launch Thursday, August 9, at 5:38 pm EDT (2138 GMT). The countdown began after shuttle managers met for the third straight day to investigate the possibility that components of a hydraulic power unit in one of the shuttle's SRBs were cracked. Officials concluded that there were no issues with the hydraulic unit that required additional work. Had NASA decided to replace the unit, it would have delayed the launch by up to a week. The shuttle is scheduled to spend 12 days in space with the primary purpose of exchanging crews on the International Space Station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list