spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Genesis launch rescheduled for Wednesday
Posted: Tue, Aug 7, 2001, 12:25 PM ET (1625 GMT)
Genesis spacecraft illustration (NASA) NASA will attempt to launch the Genesis space science spacecraft Wednesday afternoon after technical concerns and poor weather delayed several launch attempts last week. The launch of the Delta 2 carrying Genesis was rescheduled on Monday for 12:14 pm EDT (1614 GMT) Wednesday from Cape Canaveral. The Wednesday launch opportunity opened after the successful launch Monday of a Titan 4. If Wednesday's launch is delayed NASA will likely postpone the launch until after Thursday's scheduled launch of the space shuttle Discovery. The launch was originally scheduled for Monday, July 30, but was delayed two days because of concerns regarding a power converter on the spacecraft, and then three days because of weather before NASA had to turn the launch range over to the Air Force for the Titan launch. Once launched, Genesis will travel to the Earth-Sun L1 Lagrange point, where it will spend more than two years collecting samples of the solar wind that will be returned to Earth for study in 2004.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 14
Why we’re heading for an armed space race
The National (Scotland) — 3:19 am ET (0719 GMT)
Ghana is looking to outer space. It needs the law to match
The Conversation — 3:16 am ET (0716 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list