spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


EVA tests shuttle repair techniques
Posted: Thu, Jul 13, 2006, 8:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
STS-121: EVA #3 (NASA) Two astronauts spent seven hours outside the space shuttle and International Space Station Wednesday, testing techniques to repair damage to a shuttle's thermal protection system. Piers Sellers and Mike Fossum spent seven hours and 11 minutes outside the shuttle-station complex starting at 7:20 am EDT (1120 GMT) on their third and final spacewalk of the STS-121 mission. The primary purpose of the EVA was to test a repair material known as NOAX that could be used to fill cracks in the shuttle's reinforced carbon-carbon panels. The astronauts also tested an infrared camera designed to identify damage on the interior of those panels. With all of the mission spacewalks now complete, the STS-121 crew will have only light duty on Thursday before they wrap up their stay at the space station; the shuttle is scheduled to undock from the ISS on Saturday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26
Virginia looks at new opportunities for Wallops spaceport
Roanoke (VA) Times — 1:42 pm ET (1742 GMT)
How Does SpaceX Make Money?
The Motley Fool — 11:48 am ET (1548 GMT)
China Launches New Rocket from New Launch Site, New Space Station Next
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 11:44 am ET (1544 GMT)
Politicon: Why Bill Nye the Science Guy wants go to Mars
Riverside (CA) Press-Enterprise — 11:44 am ET (1544 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list