spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Mon, Sep 18, 2006, 7:00 AM ET (1100 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-9 launch (RSC Energia) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying the next ISS crew and a private passenger lifted off early Monday. A Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 12:09 am EDT (0409 GMT) Monday, placing the Soyuz TMA-9 spacecraft into low Earth orbit. On board the spacecraft are two members of the ISS Expedition 14 crew, Mikhail Tyurin and Michael Lopez-Alegria. The third passenger on the Soyuz is Anousheh Ansari, a private passenger widely considered to be the first female space tourist. The Soyuz is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 1:24 am EDT (0524 GMT) Wednesday. Tyurin and Lopez-Alegria will spend the next six months on the station, while Ansari will return about a week after the docking with returning members of the Expedition 13 crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list