spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle undocks from station
Posted: Mon, Aug 20, 2001, 5:05 PM ET (2105 GMT)
ISS after STS-105 undocking The space shuttle Discovery undocked from the International Space Station Monday morning, preparing to return to Earth with the station's old crew. Discovery undocked from the station at 10:52 am EDT (1452 GMT), circling the station once before moving away. Discovery is returning to Earth with the Expedition Two crew that spent five months at the orbiting outpost; the Expedition Three crew ferried to the station on Discovery are scheduled to spend four months on ISS before being relieved by the next crew. Several hours after undocking the shuttle released Simplesat, a small experimental satellite designed to test the ability to make inexpensive but functional spacecraft using off-the-shelf components. Simplesat will spend five months in orbit taking images using a small telescope before it reenters the atmosphere. Discovery is scheduled to return to Earth with a landing at the Kennedy Space Center, Florida, at 12:46 pm EDT (1646 GMT) Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list