spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches oceanographic satellite
Posted: Thu, Apr 12, 2007, 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
Long March 2C launch of Tan Ce 2 (ESA) China launched its second ocean sciences satellite Wednesday, according to state media reports. A Long March 2C lifted off from the Taiyuan launch center at 11:27 pm EDT Tuesday (0327 GMT Wednesday) and placed the Haiyang 1B satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite is designed to perform oceanographic research, monitoring ocean conditions and supporting utilization of oceanic resources. The spacecraft replaces China's first oceanographic satellite, Haiyang 1A, which was launched in 2002 and failed in orbit in 2004. After the launch Chinese officials said they plan to launch five more oceanographic satellites in the "near future", although the next is not scheduled for launch until 2009.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list