spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches cluster of small satellites
Posted: Thu, Apr 19, 2007, 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
Dnepr launch (Kosmotras) A converted Russian ICBM launched over a dozen small satellites for a variety of countries on Tuesday. The Dnepr rocketed lifted off from the BAikonur Cosmodrome at 2:46 am EDT (0646 GMT) Tuesday and placed the satellites into sun-synchronous orbits. The largest satellite on the Dnepr was EgyptSat-1, a 100-kilogram remote sensing lab built by Ukrainian company Yuzhnoye for the Egyptian government. Also on board the Dnepr were several small experimental communications and remote sensing satellites for Saudi Arabia and a number of kilogram-sized CubeSats, including a three-satellite system called MAST that will test tether technology. The launch was the first for a Dnepr since a July 2006 launch failure. However, two upcoming launches, of the TerraSAR-X remote sensing satellite and Bigelow Aerospace's Genesis 2 module, have been delayed until late May because of unspecified issues with the Dnepr.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list