spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Weather delays shuttle landing
Posted: Thu, Jun 21, 2007, 8:23 PM ET (0023 GMT)
STS-117: patch (NASA) Poor weather at the Kennedy Space Center forced NASA Thursday to delay the landing of the space shuttle Atlantis for 24 hours, and consider a possible landing in California. Two landing opportunities at KSC Thursday afternoon were skipped because of clouds and showers in the vicinity of the spaceport. NASA will attempt to land Atlantis on Friday instead, with two opportunities at KSC at 2:18 and 3:54 pm EDT (1818 and 1954 GMT). In addition, there will be three landing opportunities Friday at Edwards Air Force Base in California, a backup landing site, at 3:49, 5:24, and 6:59 pm EDT (1949, 2124, and 2259 GMT). Additional landing opportunities exist Saturday at those two sites as well as White Sands, New Mexico, should weather prevent a landing Friday. The shuttle has enough consumables to remain in orbit until Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list